Monday, 1 December 2008

Stone Roses.... Stone roses....in full


And so it starts.

Been listening to last hour of build up to this play. The opening riffing starts. I feel like I'm 13 again. Wow!

I kinda knew about the SR at the time, and with my sly hangings out with the 'gungers' listened to their stuff, but it was really as a full grown adult (like i ever really am!) that i really gave them the credit they deserved. I'd love to say ' yeah i was there from the beginning' but truth is i wasn't... not even close. But as mentioned on the radio, it doesn't really matter when you signed up... its good to have you along.

I never really made the link between the stone roses and the smiths before, but in the build up the influences were talked about a lot. I never liked the smiths as a kid, but the older i got, the more i enjoyed them, and am now actively looking to check out their back catalogue. Maybe thats part of growing up. And maybe its part of adopting northern england as supposed to my previous life in th home counties!

Wow... shiver down my spine as waterfall starts.

Not sure what it is about The Masterpiece shows i like so much. Think its one of the following.

The albums they choose are aways either one of my favourite albums, or one i have always wanted to listen to, and so its great to hear them broadcast; means that everyone hears them: like a great friend sharing great music with you.
Or/And
I like the idea of sharing. People all over the countrylistening and getting the same spine tingle or giddy memory at the same time, listening to the sam bass line, or mad guitar jam, kinda feels like (just for a short while at least) that nothing else matters.

Both are great reasons i reckon, and probably equally as valid.

I remember a great friend of mine (wave pacamama) pointing out to me, how the album doesn't sound dated at all. and listening now, i know what she means. can hear their infulence on current bands like Killers etc.

Well enough musings from me. As Bye Bye bad man fades out, I think i shall head off to enjoy the remainder of the album with a cool beer and a smile on my face.

Tmrw.... Rage against the Machine... (oh hell yeah!! )

INTI xx

No comments: