Sunday, 7 December 2008

Its an AAAAAAAATRAYGE!

Evening all.

Sunday evening and antiques roadshow has yet again consigned me to the sofa, while i check emails and dream of that day that i finally find a faberge egg in a dewsbury moor raffle. The lounge is currently filled with lovely winter smells of roasting vegetables and christmas trees. Both of which should be self explanatory, but may need elaborations.

First, some background. I have been told this week i have a very tidy lounge, a fact i'm sure my mum would love to know! It is tidy now, but on thursday was the proverbial home of a pig. On wednesday night I left school, after the yearly 'snow meeting' crossing everything (not myt eyes however, as i feel that hampers driving ability) hoping for snow.
I woke on thursday morning at 5am, rushed to the window to discover a really crappy raining yorkshire morning. DAmn it. So after cooking some crumpets (oh yes pacamama, I have remembered how great they are... yes i had forgotten... yes i realise that is crazy), and having a good hot cup of yorkshire tea, I got dressed and headed to school. Iwas half way there, still only seeing the odd pile of ice, and occasional smattering of snow, when i got a text saying school was shut as snow was really bad. This came as yet more confusion to my tired brain. I was very confused as on tv before i left, i saw pictures from manchester leeds and dewsbury all of which were under at least 5 or 6 cm of snow! where the hell was i? some weird twilight zone?! Ah well... at least this meant i had a day off!

I used this day off productively by doing 3 tasks. one: I turned my car around and decided to go to sainsburys for my weekly shop. Good idea huh?! HELL NO! i was one of only 3 or 4 people in the whole of sainsburys at the ungodly hour of 7:15, and my brain was not ready to cope with the madness of it. I ended up walking what felt like the equivilent of 10 miles, as i kept realising i wanted things from oposite ends of the stupid supermarket!

TASK 2: buying a christmas tree. Now i always thought this would be easy. head to B&Q, buy christmas tree, go home put lights on it. bob is your dads brother. Nope... not so easy. Went to three places to buy tree, and finally found a tree the right size in homebase, and got piss wet through trying to put the stupoid thing on a trolley. by the time i had got it in, paid for it and got it out to the car... the fact it didn't fit in my car was the least of my worries. I was cold wet and covered in pine needles.

TASK 3: When i finally got the prickly wet monster of a tree home, i then spent 2 very long and painful hours trying to find somewhere for it to go. Eventually after a cup of tea (yup tea does solve everything!) I decided on a place, decorated it and cleaned up the lounge. Am very proud of it and it makes my lounge feel really cosy!







Last night i went to see the Mighty Boosh at MEN arena. It was SOOOOOOOOOOOOO funny! really really funny! i wish i got paid for running around stage, singing silly songs and basically being an idiot.... hmmmm actually that sounds alot like teaching! :) Only outrage witht eh mighty boosh is that I ended up selling my single spare ticket for a quid 10 mins before it was supposed to start. grrrr.

The other OUTRAGE of the weekend is that next week i have heard that Xfactor are about to commit musical sacrilige. The winning X factor contestant is going to release Halleluja. My god. seriously... SERIOUSLY! i am most displeased.

grrrr.

CROSS INTI x

Monday, 1 December 2008

Stone Roses.... Stone roses....in full


And so it starts.

Been listening to last hour of build up to this play. The opening riffing starts. I feel like I'm 13 again. Wow!

I kinda knew about the SR at the time, and with my sly hangings out with the 'gungers' listened to their stuff, but it was really as a full grown adult (like i ever really am!) that i really gave them the credit they deserved. I'd love to say ' yeah i was there from the beginning' but truth is i wasn't... not even close. But as mentioned on the radio, it doesn't really matter when you signed up... its good to have you along.

I never really made the link between the stone roses and the smiths before, but in the build up the influences were talked about a lot. I never liked the smiths as a kid, but the older i got, the more i enjoyed them, and am now actively looking to check out their back catalogue. Maybe thats part of growing up. And maybe its part of adopting northern england as supposed to my previous life in th home counties!

Wow... shiver down my spine as waterfall starts.

Not sure what it is about The Masterpiece shows i like so much. Think its one of the following.

The albums they choose are aways either one of my favourite albums, or one i have always wanted to listen to, and so its great to hear them broadcast; means that everyone hears them: like a great friend sharing great music with you.
Or/And
I like the idea of sharing. People all over the countrylistening and getting the same spine tingle or giddy memory at the same time, listening to the sam bass line, or mad guitar jam, kinda feels like (just for a short while at least) that nothing else matters.

Both are great reasons i reckon, and probably equally as valid.

I remember a great friend of mine (wave pacamama) pointing out to me, how the album doesn't sound dated at all. and listening now, i know what she means. can hear their infulence on current bands like Killers etc.

Well enough musings from me. As Bye Bye bad man fades out, I think i shall head off to enjoy the remainder of the album with a cool beer and a smile on my face.

Tmrw.... Rage against the Machine... (oh hell yeah!! )

INTI xx