Wow... been a while since my last post. That's what teaching does for you! So have been back at school 2 weeks now and genuinely haven't had a chance to stop. Last week was particularly busy, as it was practice SATs week.
Initially my reaction to these test weeks is "Woo Hoo! no teaching!" then the first day passes and I realise it means I disapear under a mountain of marking, and eternal disapointment at the progress the kids in my class have made (or not made... which is more common). I really don't like feeling like i waste my life teaching, and when half my class can't even add two three digit numbers together, i begin to dispair!
The most disapointing part of this week however is the lack of amusing answers to add to my secret gallery of stupid test answers. out of all the tests, i only got two! And of those two I only managed to capture one, as the child who wrote "i just guest" (actual spelling) in the box where he was asked to explain how he had worked out an answer, eventually crossed it out and wrote something else. Below however is the one answer i did manage to capture... and a genius answer it is too.
So last night was the annual Children in Need TV marathon. It is amazing in this time of credit crunch how generous people can be. I know this sounds slightly sarcastic, but it was the main thought in my mind as the total topped 20 million last night. The other thought was i admit.... Please god make this insanity stop! Watching endless TV personalities make a fool of themselves should be entertaining, but actually isn't!
The other problem with CIN being on last night is that I had bought all the ingredients for Gordon Ramsey cook along live. However... due to children in need, cookalong is not on til next friday! Jeez! So now I have steak, Avacado and prawns all needing eating up in the next day or so! Damn it!
I'm thinking of making a prawn risotto for dinner tonight, but as i am extremely proud of my marking efforts (I have marked over 225 SATs papers, and levelled them all!!) all i feel like doing is sitting down with a beer and watching the Ireland v New Zealand rugby. I would watch England, but alas it is on Sky sports. grrr. Oh and on that note, I would like to publically thank Virgin for allowing us mere mortals the opportunity to have Sky1 back. Hurrah! I can now watch the simpsons to my hearts content.
Anyway... Enough rambling... I have a beer and many burly men beating each other up to get back to (current score Ireland 0, All Blacks 0 after 20 minutes).
INTI xx

No comments:
Post a Comment